FB: Bohannon Named 2017 AFCA FCS Coach of the Year - Kennesaw State Athletics
Skip To Main Content
FB: Bohannon Named 2017 AFCA FCS Coach of the Year

FB: Bohannon Named 2017 AFCA FCS Coach of the Year

Bookmark and Share
CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Brian Bohannon, who guided Kennesaw State to a Big South Conference championship, the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division I FCS Playoffs and a No. 8 final ranking in the STATS FCS Poll, has been named the 2017 AFCA FCS Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).
The announcement was made during a live broadcast of the AFCA Awards, presented by Amway, during the AFCA coaches convention at the Charlotte Convention Center on Monday.

"It's a tremendous honor to be named the AFCA FCS Coach of the Year, said Bohannon. "This speaks volumes about our program and how our players, coaches and support staff bought into the process at Kennesaw State. Anytime you receive an individual award it's a reflection on the program and a commitment made by everyone involved."

In his third season as head coach, Bohannon guided the program to historic heights as the Owls recorded a 12-2 mark that included a school-record 12 straight wins.
Kennesaw State posted three straight victories over ranked opponents – No. 22 Monmouth (52-21), No. 14 Samford (28-17) and No. 3 Jacksonville State (17-7) – and become the first FCS program to advance to the quarterfinals of the playoffs in just its third year, before falling to No. 6 Sam Houston State in the quarterfinals in Huntsville, Texas.
Bohannon has watched over a program that has produced the No. 1 rushing offense (330.2) and a defense that finished the season ranked No. 1 in turnover margin (1.64), No. 2 in interceptions (24), and No. 7 in scoring defense (15.5) in the FCS.   
Other FCS regional finalists were Al Bagnoli, Columbia; Mike London, Howard; John Grass, Jacksonville State; Dave Cecchini, Valparaiso; and Demario Warren, Southern Utah.
About the AFCA
The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to "maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession" and to "provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football."
Vince Thompson, AFCA Director of Media Relations, vince@afca.com.
Fifth Third Bank is the Official Bank of Kennesaw State Athletics. Fifth Third Bank Stadium, the signature athletics landmark on the Kennesaw State University campus, is a world-class facility that has been recognized as one of the premier multi-use outdoor athletics venues in the country. In the fall of 2015, it become the official home of Owls football team and is home to Owls soccer and lacrosse as well.
Keep up with Kennesaw State Athletics by following KSU on Twitter @KSUOwlNation and or by liking Kennesaw State Owls on Facebook. You also can follow Kennesaw State football at @KennesawSTFB and The Owls fund on Twitter at @TheOwlsFund.
Print Friendly Version
Related Videos
Pinterest - Pin It